Swarm’s 2021 Year in Review

By Sara Spangelo

Co-founder, Swarm

December 28, 2021

Share:

2021 was the most exhilarating and impactful year for Swarm yet! We went from 45 to 120 satellites on orbit, grew our customer base by more than 1500%, transmitted millions of data packets, joined the SpaceX team, and so much more. 

As we take a look back at our top moments over the past 12 months, we also want to thank our customers, partners, investors, team members, families, and friends for all the hard work and support that has gotten us to where we are today.

From all of us at Swarm, we wish you and your loved ones a very happy and healthy New Year!

1. Supported hundreds of customers on the Swarm network!

We continue to be amazed by the unique and impactful work that our customers do, and proud to see how our low-cost network enables these applications around the globe. From preventing wildfires and flood damage; to monitoring critical communications sites and water purification systems; to measuring livestock water availability and health data, our customers are doing remarkable work, and we’re thrilled to help them!

2. Launched our Eval Kit

The Swarm Eval Kit is an out-of-the-box solution that lets you instantly send messages or GPS locations through the Swarm satellite network from any place on Earth. It also comes with everything you need to build an IoT sensor that can transmit anywhere. We loved seeing people’s creative ideas on how to use the Kit, such as building a remote security camera.

The Eval Kit is available for pre-order on our website now, and is on sale for a few more days, until Dec 31!

3. Announced our new M138 modem

The M138 is our second generation satellite modem, designed to be embedded into any IoT device for secure, 2-way data transmission. The M138 was re-designed to make it far easier to integrate than the original Swarm Tile, and it includes a wider input voltage range and higher transmit power to maximize reliability on the Swarm network.

The M138 is also available for pre-order on our website, and is significantly discounted through Dec 31!

4. 120 satellites in orbit

We launched 75 satellites this year, bringing down latencies and opening up new use cases for our customers. We will launch our final satellites in early 2022, completing our constellation of 150 satellites in low Earth orbit (LEO).

Launching 28 satellites aboard a SpaceX rocket in June
Swarm’s latest SpaceBEE satellites

5. Received coverage in numerous media outlets

Swarm was profiled in various media outlets, including the Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Bloomberg, TechCrunch, and many more.

6. Grew the Swarm team by 40%

We hired new team members across software, hardware, firmware, operations, sales engineering, recruiting, and programs.

Interested in joining the Swarm team? We’re still hiring! Check out our open roles.

7. Swarm was acquired by SpaceX!

Last but certainly not least, we joined the SpaceX team! The acquisition will allow us to move even faster and fulfill our mission of providing affordable, global connectivity for IoT devices around the world. We are thrilled to be a part of the SpaceX team and look forward to continuing to serve current and future customers on our network!


Latest from Our Blog

By Swarm Technologies, December 9, 2021

Satellite-enabled water monitoring in the Australian Outback

By Swarm Technologies, December 2, 2021

Preventing flood damage through remote sensing and satellite connectivity

By Swarm Technologies, November 2, 2021

Connectivity at 100mph: Testing Swarm for Aerospace IIoT

By Swarm Technologies, October 14, 2021

Remotely monitoring and controlling water purification and power generation in East Africa

By Swarm Technologies, October 7, 2021

Swarm vs. Legacy Satellite Providers: Choosing the best IoT satellite solution for your needs

By Swarm Technologies, September 9, 2021

Finding the right IoT connectivity provider: an AgTech company’s journey

By Swarm Technologies, September 8, 2021

Choosing the right IoT connectivity solution

By Swarm Technologies, August 26, 2021

Monitoring critical communications sites in remote New Zealand

By Swarm Technologies, August 19, 2021

Preventing wildfires through ultra-early detection

By Swarm Technologies, July 29, 2021

Introducing the Swarm Eval Kit: Available to buy online now!

By Marc Pegulu, May 11, 2021

Satellite IoT Q&A with Semtech

By Swarm Technologies, April 28, 2021

Swarm Chats: Emily Calandrelli, Engineer, Author, and Emmy-Nominated TV Host

By Swarm Technologies, April 22, 2021

Celebrating our environmental partners on Earth Day

By Swarm Technologies, March 4, 2021

Fishing & aquaculture: 3 tips for choosing the right satellite provider

By Swarm Technologies, February 23, 2021

Using in-field data to achieve groundwater sustainability

By Sara Spangelo, February 9, 2021

Swarm is commercially live!

By Swarm Technologies, February 3, 2021

Swarm Chats: Marcy Klevorn, Former CIO, President of Mobility, and Chief Transformation Officer at Ford

By Swarm Technologies, January 28, 2021

3 ways low-cost satellite data is supercharging AgTech IoT companies

By Swarm Technologies, January 26, 2021

Swarm grows network to 72 satellites!

By Swarm Technologies, January 14, 2021

Swarm Chats: Ed Lu, Co-founder of LeoLabs and Former NASA Astronaut

By Sara Spangelo, January 6, 2021

2020 Year in Review

By Swarm Technologies, December 16, 2020

Swarm Chats: Rob Meyerson, Former President of Blue Origin

By Swarm Technologies, December 1, 2020

Swarm Chats: Jonny Dyer, Former Chief Engineer of Skybox

By Swarm Technologies, November 18, 2020

Groundwater pump monitoring with low-cost satellite connectivity saves energy and money

By Swarm Technologies, Oct 20, 2020

Building a Satellite-Enabled Drought Resilience Network in the Western US

By Swarm Technologies, October 6, 2020

Swarm’s commercial hardware is FCC and CE certified

By Sara Spangelo, September 29, 2020

Announcing Products and Pricing for the World’s Lowest-Cost Satellite Communications Network

By Sara Spangelo, September 10, 2020

Swarm launches first 12 commercial satellites

By Benjamin Longmier, April 19, 2020

Antarctica to the Azores

By Sara Spangelo, April 6, 2020

Swarm gains full regulatory approval to operate commercially

By Benjamin Longmier, March 11, 2020

Swarm ranked #2 most innovative space company

By Benjamin Longmier, February 11, 2020

A journey to the bottom of the world to improve global connectivity

By Sara Spangelo, October 17, 2019

Swarm receives commercial license from the FCC

By Micki Seibel, May 20, 2019

Agriculture’s digital revolution from space

By Sara Spangelo, January 24, 2019

Swarm raises $25 million series A to build world’s lowest-cost satellite network

By Sara Spangelo, January 9, 2019

Swarm technologies and autonomic team up to create industry’s first low-cost ubiquitous vehicle connectivity platform

By Sara Spangelo, Dec 12, 2018

Swarm Grows Constellation to Seven Satellites with Recent Launch

By Sara Spangelo, Aug 30, 2018

Introducing Swarm: The World’s Lowest-Cost Global Communications Network